PCORI Help Center

What are the differences between “Category 1” and “Category 2” in the BPS PFA?

The BPS PFA offers two categories for award size, with targeted funding allotments for each to promote a balance of smaller and larger studies within the funded portfolio. These are applicable to all four of the National Priorities for Health encompassed within the BPS PFA.  

One study category (Category 1) will include studies with direct costs up to and including $5 million.

The other (Category 2) will permit awards requesting direct costs greater than $5 million, up to a maximum of $10 million. Category 2 applications, those proposing direct costs between $5 million and $10 million total, will be expected to justify the size and scope of the proposed research and how additional funds are necessary with respect to the scale, scope, and complexity of personnel and material resources needed to address the proposed research question.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk