PCORI Help Center

What are the differences between Categories 1, 2, and 3 in the BPS PFA?

The BPS PFA offers two categories for award size, with targeted funding allotments for each to promote a balance of smaller and larger studies within the funded portfolio. Cycle 2 of 2023 includes the addition of Category 3 to support PCORnet® Studies. These are applicable to all four of the National Priorities for Health encompassed within the BPS PFA.  

Category 1 will include research projects with direct costs up to and including $5 million. Category 2 will permit awards for funding of research projects requesting direct costs greater than $5 million and up to a maximum of $10 million. Category 3 will permit awards for direct costs of up to $10 million. 

Applications for funding exceeding $5 million direct costs will be expected to justify the size and scope of the proposed research as well as explain why additional funds are necessary to support the scale, scope, and complexity of personnel and material resources needed to address the proposed research question. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk